# **HIV Community Planning Council**

## **M**EMBERSHIP COMMITTEE

Thursday, May 14<sup>th</sup> 2020 Zoom Meeting 3:00-5:00 pm

Committee Members Present: Cesar Cadabes, Ed Chitty (Co-Chair), Elaine Flores, Ron Hernandez, Ken Pearce,

John Paul Soto, Michelle Spence

Committee Members Absent: Billie Cooper[E], Thomas Knoble [A], Mike Shriver [LOA], Gwen Smith [A]

**Council Members Present:** Richard Sullivan

Others Present:

Support Staff Present: Melina Clark, Ali Cone, David Jordan, Mark Molnar

### **Minutes**

#### 1. Introductions

The meeting was called to order at 3:02 pm by CS Cone. Everyone introduced themselves and did a brief round of check-ins. Quorum was established.

# 2. Review /Approve May 14th 2020 DRAFT Agenda – VOTE

The May 14<sup>th</sup> 2020 DRAFT Agenda was reviewed and approved by consensus.

# 3. Review / Approve February 13<sup>th</sup> 2020 DRAFT Minutes - VOTE

The February 13<sup>th</sup> 2020 DRAFT Minutes were reviewed, corrected and approved by consensus.

## 4. Announcements

None.

#### 5. Public Comment

None.

#### 6. Demographic Information Update

- The Committee reviewed the monthly demographic report.
  - CS Cone reported that the only change was the resignation of Dean Goodwin, non-renewal of Dominique Johnson and the addition of Kevin Hutchcroft.
  - There have been no substantive changes to our target areas. The council is still under for nonaligned consumers.
- CM Flores spoke to outreach and recruitment.

#### 7. Council Member Attendance Report/ Council Applicants- VOTE

- Notice of Attendance to be sent:
- Notice of Attendance sent:
  - o Orin Allen

- Letters of Probation to be sent:
- Letters of Probation sent:
  - Wayne Rafus (March- eligible for automatic dismissal due to attendance)
    - Folks discussed the ethics of the automatic dismissal policy in light of the current pandemic.
    - The group decided to abide by the automatic dismissal policy. CM Rafus will be notified by council staff.
- Review Renewals:
  - JP Soto, Matt Geltmaker, Lee Jewell, Ron Hernandez
  - O MOTION: To approve the renewals as a slate.
  - MOTION PASSED by consensus. See column [1] for vote breakdown.
- Request for Leave of Absence:
  - o Jovon Bright (March-April) CS Clark can reach out to Jovon to see if he'd like to extend the leave of absence
  - Charles Siron (June-July)
  - Mike Shriver (June-July)
  - o MOTION: To approve the LoAs for CM Siron and CM Shriver.
  - o MOTION PASSES by consensus. See column [2] for vote breakdown.
- Current Leave(s) of Absence:
- Committee Assignments:
- Resignations/Thank You for Service to the Council:
  - o Dean Goodwin
- Review Exit Interview:
- Dismissal Letters to be sent due to attendance requirements:
  - Wayne Rafus
- Review Prospective Member Application
  - Derrick Mapp
  - MOTION: CM Pearce moves to approve Derrick Mapp for an interview.
  - CM Soto seconds the motion.
  - MOTION PASSES by consensus: See column [3] for vote breakdown.
- Interview/ Discuss Prospective Applicant
- Mentor Program

#### 8. Appointed Seat Policy

- The Committee reviewed the Appointed Seat Policy.
- CS Cone noted that right now a lot of the appointed seats are in emergency roles. The new policy around their required attendance at committee meetings might need to be put temporarily on hold.

# 9. Supporting Materials

- Committee reviewed supporting materials, including:
  - o Rules of Respectful Engagement
  - Acronyms
  - Glossary
  - The group decided to send out these 3 documents as part of future meeting notices, as well put them on the website.
    - When in person meetings resume, these documents will also be made available as hard copies.

# 10. Next Meeting Date & Agenda Items- VOTE

The next Membership Committee meeting is scheduled for Thursday, June 11<sup>th</sup>, 2020 on Zoom.

## 11. Adjournment

• The Meeting was adjourned at 4:30 pm by CS Cone.

## **Membership Committee**

HIV Community Planning Council

Roll Call: **P**=Present; **A**=Absent; **E**=Excused; **L**=Leave of Absence Votes: **Y**=Yes; **N**=No; **B**=Abstain; **R**=Recused (deduct from quorum)

May 14, 2020		roll	[1]	[2]	[3]	[4]	[5]	[6]	[7]	[8]	[9]
1.	Cesar Cadabes	Р	Υ	Υ	Υ						
2.	Ed Chitty	Р	Υ	Y	Υ						
3.	Billie Cooper	E	-	-	-						
4.	Elaine Flores	Р	Υ	Υ	Υ						
6.	Ron Hernandez	Р	Υ	Υ	Υ						
7.	Thomas Knoble	Α	-	-	-						
8.	Ken Pearce	Р	Υ	Υ	Υ						
9.	Mike Shriver	LoA	-	-	-						
10.	Gwen Smith	А	-	-	-						
11.	John Paul Soto	Р	Υ	Υ	Υ						
12.	Michelle Spence	Р	Υ	Υ	Υ						

Ayes					
Nayes					
Total					