HIV Community Planning Council

MEMBERSHIP COMMITTEE

Thursday, November 12th 2020 Zoom Meeting 3:00-5:00 pm

Committee Members Present: Elaine Flores, Ron Hernandez, Thomas Knoble (Co-Chair), Derrick Mapp, Ken

Pearce, John Paul Soto

Committee Members Absent: Cesar Cadabes [A], Ed Chitty [E], Billie Cooper [A], Mike Shriver [LOA], Gwen Smith

[A]

Council Members Present: Kevin Hutchcroft

Others Present: Beth Neary (HHS)

Support Staff Present: Ali Cone, Valarie Etukudo, Mark Molnar

Minutes

1. Introductions

The meeting was called to order at 3:04 pm by CM Flores. Quorum was established.

2. Review / Approve November 12th 2020 DRAFT Agenda – VOTE

The November 12th 2020 DRAFT Agenda was reviewed and approved by consensus.

3. Review / Approve October 8th 2020 DRAFT Minutes - VOTE

The October 8th 2020 DRAFT Minutes were reviewed and approved by consensus.

4. Announcements

• CM Pearce – There's been two memorials for Margot and there's one this Sunday at noon.

5. Public Comment

None.

6. Demographic Information Update

The Committee reviewed the monthly demographic report.

- CS Cone reports that CM Spence has resigned and she's been removed from the demographic report.
- CM Pearce would like to know what areas the committee should focus for recruitment.
- CS Cone reports that we still need 5-6 new non-aligned consumers to reach the 33% mandate. We're at 0 non-aligned that are Latinx or Native American. There are few young council members and these are areas where we fall under the threshold of representing our clientele.
- CS Cone also reviewed the Epi report.

7. Council Member Attendance Report/ Council Applicants – VOTE

- Notice of Attendance to be sent:
- Notice of Attendance sent:
 - Paul Harkin, Gwen Smith, Cicily Emerson, Juba Kalamka, Antwan Matthews, Eric Sutter

Page **1** of 3

- Letters of Probation to be sent:
- Letters of Probation sent:
 - Orin Allen
- Review Renewals:
 - Cicily Emerson

MOTION: CM Pearce motions to approve CM Emerson's renewal. CM Hernandez seconded. MOTION PASSES by consensus. See column (1) for vote breakdown.

- Request for Leave of Absence:
- Current Leave(s) of Absence:
- Committee Assignments:
- Resignations/Thank You for Service to the Council:
 - Michelle Spence
- Review Exit Interview:
- Dismissal Letters to be sent due to attendance requirements:
- Review Prospective Member Application:
- Interview/Discuss Prospective Applicant:
- Mentor Program

8. Targeted Council Member Recruitment

The Committee will discuss targeted recruitment of council members.

- Below are suggestions that are not set in stone but a starting point for recruitment. This agenda item will be re-visited.
 - o Extend recruitment information to Portuguese speaking COLA.
 - Consider reaching out to CABS
 - CM Hutchcroft was told that CABS haven't been able to meet due to COVID activations.
 - Reach out to council members who can extend recruitment information to their networks.

9. Tech Support for Council Members

The Committee will discuss how council members are adapting to virtual meetings and brainstorm how to improve tech support/access.

- CS Molnar will be working with CM Allen on technical difficulties.
- CS Cone will be working with CM Siron on technical difficulties.
- CM Flores suggested that if anyone has connection issues a good troubleshooting idea per Zoom customer service is to try and delete unnecessary files to try and improve the Zoom connection.

10. Next Meeting Date & Agenda Items – VOTE

The Membership Committee will discuss and vote on December's meeting. The next Membership Committee meeting is tentatively scheduled for Thursday, January 14th 2020 from 3:00-5:00pm via Zoom.

11. Adjournment

• Meeting adjourned by CM Flores at 3:53 pm.

Membership Committee

HIV Community Planning Council
Roll Call: P=Present; A=Absent; E=Excused; L=Leave of Absence
Votes: Y=Yes; N=No; B=Abstain; R=Recused (deduct from quorum)

November 12 th , 2020		roll	[1]	[2]	[3]	[4]	[5]	[6]	[7]	[8]	[9]
1.	Cesar Cadabes	А	-								
2.	Ed Chitty	Е	-								
3.	Billie Cooper	Α	-								
4.	Elaine Flores	Р	Υ								
6.	Ron Hernandez	Р	Υ								
7.	Thomas Knoble (Gov't Co- Chair)	Р	Υ								
8.	Derrick Mapp	Р	Υ								
8.	Ken Pearce	Р	Υ								
9.	Mike Shriver	LofA	-								
10.	Gwen Smith	Α	-								
11.	John Paul Soto	Р	Υ								
						I					
	Kevin Hutchcroft	Р	Υ								
	Ayes		7								
	Nayes										

Total		7									
-------	--	---	--	--	--	--	--	--	--	--	--