HIV Community Planning Council

MEMBERSHIP COMMITTEE

Thursday, July 9th 2020 Zoom Meeting 3:00-5:00 pm

Committee Members Present: Cesar Cadabes, Ed Chitty (Co-Chair), Elaine Flores, Ron Hernandez, Thomas Knoble,

John Paul Soto, Ken Pearce, Michelle Spence

Committee Members Absent: Billie Cooper [E], Mike Shriver [LOA], Gwen Smith,

Council Members Present: Kevin Hutchcroft **Others Present:** Derrick Mapp, Beth Neary (HHS)

Support Staff Present: Melina Clark, Ali Cone, David Jordan, Mark Molnar

Minutes

1. Introductions

The meeting was called to order at 3:08 pm by CM Chitty. Quorum was established.

2. Review /Approve July 9th 2020 DRAFT Agenda – VOTE

The July 9th 2020 DRAFT Agenda was reviewed and approved by consensus.

3. Review / Approve June 11th 2020 DRAFT Minutes - VOTE

The June 11th 2020 DRAFT Minutes were reviewed, corrected and approved by consensus.

4. Announcements

None.

5. Public Comment

None.

6. Demographic Information Update

- CS Cone provided the monthly demographic report.
 - o The report reflects the resignation of CM Bright, who had to step down for personal reasons.
 - o The council is still under for non-aligned consumers. We are now at 37 members.

7. Council Member Attendance Report/ Council Applicants- VOTE

- Notice of Attendance to be sent:
- Notice of Attendance sent:
 - o Orin Allen
- Letters of Probation to be sent:
- Letters of Probation sent:

- Review Renewals:
 - T.J. Lee-Miyaki
 - o MOTION: CM Hernandez moves to approve CM Lee-Miyaki's renewal application.
 - CM Cadabes seconds the motion.
 - MOTION PASSES by consensus. See column [1] for vote breakdown.
- Request for Leave of Absence:
- Current Leave(s) of Absence:
 - Charles Siron (June-July)
 - Mike Shriver (June-July)
- Committee Assignments:
- Resignations/Thank You for Service to the Council:
- Review Exit Interview:
- Dismissal Letters to be sent due to attendance requirements:
- Review Prospective Member Application
- Interview/ Discuss Prospective Applicant
 - Derrick Mapp
 - MOTION: CM Knoble moves to approve Derrick Mapp's application for consideration at Full Council.
 - CM Soto seconds the motion.
 - MOTION PASSES: See column (2) for vote breakdown.
- Mentor Program

8. Carry Forward Funding Allocation- VOTE

- CM Hutchcroft provided context for the FY19-20 Carry Forward Motion.
- CM Pearce spoke to the name of "incentive" vouchers versus something more general.
- MOTION: To approve the FY 19-20 Carry Forward Recommendations.
- MOTION PASSES by roll call vote. See column [3] for vote breakdown.

9. Multiple representatives from single agencies- VOTE

- CM Chitty voiced a lack of concern around over-representation from single agencies. Whenever there is a vote that could affect an agency, people usually recuse themselves. Several agencies also have different departments and bring different voices to the council.
- CM Pearce expressed concern for too much representation from a single agency on the council.
- CM Cadabes spoke to different voices from the same agencies. For example, if we are recruiting for youth of color when a YOC is already represented on the council.

- CM Pearce suggested making it part of the membership process to bring awareness to if an applicant's agency is already represented on the council.
 - o CS Jordan added that while this isn't currently an official process, council staff always lets the committee know if there will be a potential conflict of interest.

10. Next Meeting Date & Agenda Items- VOTE

- The next Membership Committee meeting is scheduled for Thursday, August 13th, 2020 on Zoom.
- Parking lot:
- Multiple representation from the same agency on the council.

11. Adjournment

• The Meeting was adjourned at 3:43 pm by CM Chitty.

Membership Committee

HIV Community Planning Council
Roll Call: **P**=Present; **A**=Absent; **E**=Excused; **L**=Leave of Absence
Votes: **Y**=Yes; **N**=No; **B**=Abstain; **R**=Recused (deduct from quorum)

July 9	9, 2020	roll	[1]	[2]	[3]	[4]	[5]	[6]	[7]	[8]	[9]
1.	Cesar Cadabes	Р	Y	Υ	Υ						
2.	Ed Chitty	Р	Υ	Υ	Υ						
3.	Billie Cooper	Е	-		-						
4.	Elaine Flores	Р	Y	Υ	Y						
6.	Ron Hernandez	Р	Y	Υ	Υ						
7.	Kevin Hutchcroft/Thomas Knoble	А	-	-	-						
8.	Ken Pearce	Р	Υ	Υ	Υ						
9.	Mike Shriver	LoA	-		-						
10.	Gwen Smith	Р	Υ	Υ	-						
11.	John Paul Soto	Р	Y	Y	Υ						
12.	Michelle Spence	Р	Υ	Y	Υ						

Ayes					
Nayes					
Total					